Back To Basics

Photo courtesy of Marie Claire.

So I haven’t been completely honest with you. I mentioned I’d had a run in with a less than fresh product insert sheepish face here and have been waiting for my skin to fully recover before diving back into my product arsenal. Sometimes you just have to let your skin do it’s own thing.

The truth is that between class, work, and basically life I’d started to wonder if I was simply out of ideas and things to write about. So I’ve sat back and read other peoples blogs, and slowly eased back into the search for a product that would set me gushing again, or an inspiring post to get me thinking. Or in many cases, ranting…which I make a conscious effort not to do here. It doesn’t do either of us any good, and I just want all of you to try and love the things I love, and get as excited as I do about finding the perfect things for your face.

The one recurring thing I’m reminded of in my reading travels is this:

You don’t know, what you don’t know.

That in turn reminds me, that we all come on here with the best intentions, to share knowledge with each other and make life a little easier in the cosmetic aisles. So in that spirit, I’ve finally come up with a semi regular series that brings us right back to the basics, in information and of course delivery. Some of us might have been trained in the different layers of the skin, but who remembers these things when they’re shopping for something to just stop the wrinkles!

I’ll begin with this.

Your skin, is not your friend’s, mother’s, grandmother’s, the woman who works at the dry cleaner across the street, or the anonymous person who gave that product a 2/10 rating on the companies website skin. I’m all for word of mouth, but please take it with a grain of salt. Because of this, I’ll also add that when you come to visit your cosmetics counter, please do not ask me to tell you what type of skin you have.

I am not the one wearing your skin.

Therefore, I don’t know that when you use a scrub your whole face turns the color of a tomato, or that your t-zone gets oilier in the winter. Don’t be shy! Spit it all out, and I’ll tell you that no, it’s not strange that you have acne on dry skin, and so on. It works both ways though, because as long as I don’t know what you don’t know, nothing really ever gets solved and we all have bad skin.

So coming up, we’ll talk about skincare regimes, the real skin types, differences in consistencies, and all kinds of other exciting (maybe just for me) tidbits like that. As always, comment with any questions, and I’ll throw those in too!

Till then,

One thought on “Back To Basics

  1. Pingback: It’s Not You, It’s Me. « The Girl Behind The Book

Leave a Reply

